top of page


The Marine Corps Aviation Association (MCAA) is honored to announce the 2023 MCAA Aviation Award Recipients. These Marines received their Awards at the 2023 Symposium in Dallas, TX, on May 18th, 2023.

Alfred A. Cunningham Award (Aviator of the Year):

Capt Jacob D. Gillespie, HMLA-369, MAG-39, 3d MAW


Robert Guy Robinson Award (NFO of the Year):

Capt Raymond T. Rickenbach, VMFA(AW)-533, MAG-31, 2d MAW


Earle Hattaway Award (Aviation Ground Officer of the Year):

CWO2 Orlando Garcia, VMM-263, MAG-26, 2d MAW


Robert F. Gibson Award (Air Command and Control Officer of the Year):

Capt Michael R. Burke, MACS-2, MACG-28, 2d MAW


Silver Hawk Award (Earliest Naval Aviation Designation Date):

LtGen Matthew G. Glavy, Deputy Commandant for Information


Frank E. Petersen Jr. Award (Flight Student of the Year):

1stLt Nathan D. Rothenberger, VT-35, MATSG-22, TECOM


Danny L. Radish Award (Enlisted Aircrewman of the Year):

Sgt Nicholas L. Hutloff, VMM-362(REIN), MAG-16, 3d MAW


Willie D. Sproule Award (Maintenance Marine of the Year):

Sgt Amber N. Rice, VMFAT-101, MAG-11, 3d MAW


Kenneth W. Southcomb Award (Aviation Supply Marine of the Year):

MSgt Nabil Guerra, MALS-26, MAG-26, 2d MAW


Paul G. Vess Award (Avionics Marine of the Year):

SSgt Adonis A. Rodriguezadames, MALS-36, MAG-36, 1st MAW


Gaines B. Gilbert Award (Aviation Ordnance Marine of the Year):

Sgt Joshua A. Kueker, MALS-31, MAG-31, 2d MAW


Kenneth A. Innis Award (Command and Control Marine of the Year):

MGySgt Fred J. Foster, MACS-1, MACG-38, 3d MAW


Jack W. Demmond Award (Aviation Ground Marine of the Year):

GySgt Frances L. Leon, VMFA-323, MAG-11, 3d MAW


James E. Nicholson Award (NCO Leadership):

Sgt Zachary M. Price, HMLA-775, MAG-41, 4th MAW


Michael A. Hough Award (Acquisition Excellence):

Maj David W. Charles, PMA-263


James Maguire Award (Exceptional Achievement):

GySgt Terrence E. Hublard, VMFA-242, MAG-12, 1st MAW


Commandants Aviation Trophy (Outstanding Performance of a Marine Aviation Squadron or Battalion): 

VMFA-323, MAG-11, 3d MAW


Robert M. Hanson Award (Fighter/Attack Squadron of the Year):

VMFA-121, MAG-12, 1st MAW


Lawson H. M. Sanderson Award (Attack Squadron of the Year):

VMA-542, MAG-14, 2d MAW


Henry Wildfang Award (Aerial/Refueler/Transport Squadron of the Year):

VMGR-252, MAG-14, 2d MAW


Fred McCorkle Award (Marine Medium Tiltrotor Squadron of the Year):

VMM-265, MAG-36, 1st MAW


Keith B. McCutcheon Award (Marine Heavy Helicopter Squadron of the Year):

HMH-366, MAG-29, 2d MAW


John P. Giguere Award (Marine Light/Attack Helicopter Squadron of the Year):

HMLA-269, MAG-29, 2d MAW


John I. Hudson Award (Marine Unmanned Aircraft Squadron of the Year):

VMU-1, MAG-13, 3d MAW


Donald E. Davis Award (Marine Aviation Logistics Squadron of the Year):

MALS-31, MAG-31, 2d MAW


James E. Hatch Award (Marine Wing Support Squadron of the Year):

MWSS-272, MACG-28, 2d MAW


Edward S. Fris Award (Air Command/Control Squadron of the Year):

MACS-2, MACG-28, 2d MAW


Pete Ross Award (Aviation Safety):

VMGR-152, MAG-12, 1st MAW

bottom of page