MCAA is headquartered in Quantico, Virginia. 


The Marine Corps Aviation Association (MCAA) is a 501(c)(19) non-profit organization that recognizes professional excellence in Marine aviation, educates the public on its history and heritage, safeguards its future by publishing the recipients of the 29 Marine Corps Aviation Awards annually, and supports the fraternal bond of its membership.


The origins of the Marine Corps Aviation Association (MCAA) began with veterans from the First Marine Aviation Force, who served in aviation in World War I prior to 11 November 1918, and later formed the First Marine Veterans Force Association (FMAFVA). The association's original bylaws stated that FMAFVA membership was limited to aviation veterans of World War I. 

As the years passed and the number of World War I aviation Marine veterans decreased, FMFVA leadership became concerned that no one would be left to protect the legacy, lineage, or future of Marine aviation. As a result, in 1972, the FMAFVA voted to charter MCAA and open its membership to all Marines, their families, and anyone who had a vested interest in supporting the mission of Marine aviation. 


In 1962, with the Commandant's approval, the FMAFVA created its first Marine aviation award: The Alfred A, Cunningham Award, named in honor of the "Father of Marine Corps Aviation". The first recipient was then-Lieutenant Colonel John H. Glenn, Jr., for becoming the first American to orbit around the earth. The Marine Aviation Awards Program has grown significantly since then, and today the awards span all ranks and MOSs. The awards are presented annually each May at a formal awards banquet. 


715 Broadway Street

P.O. Box 296

Quantico, VA  22134

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2020 by Marine Corps Aviation Association